Brick Wall of the Month: Hezekiah Collins

My Brick Wall for the month of September is Hezekiah Collins.

I feel like I have known of Hezekiah for a very long time. I know a great deal about him, but not as much as I would like to.

Hezekiah was born in 1810, in Virginia. He married Sarah Jane Wood, born 1813, in Albemarle County, Virginia, in 1832. They had 6 children together, including my great-great grandfather, Zachariah Collins, born in 1849 in Ohio.

Hezekiah and Sarah moved from Ohio to Illinois sometime between 1850 and 1860. Between 1860 and 1870, they traveled to Oregon by wagon train. Hezekiah was the wagon master.

Hezekiah worked as a farmer in Virginia, Ohio, and Illinois, but was a hotel keeper in Oregon.

He died in 1884, but there is no record of his burial. He is not buried beside his wife, who died in 1891.

I would like to know where he is buried, of course, but I would also like to have a better picture of Hezekiah back in Virginia. Who were his parents? Who were his siblings? The popular opinion (most of the public trees that list Hezekiah) is that his parents are George Collins and Mary “Polly” Owens. And maybe they are. I would like evidence of this, though. The public trees also list three sons: Hezekiah, born 1810, Lemuel, born 1812, and Manley, born 1814.

Now, both her paternal grandparents (Hezekiah and Sarah) died before my great-grandmother was born, so she never knew them. But she knew bits and pieces regarding the family, and one of the things she wrote down was that Hezekiah had a twin brother, Malachi. Maybe this isn’t true, or maybe the twin died early on, but it’s frustrating when you have a piece of information that doesn’t seem to fit in anywhere.

I am looking for proof linking Hezekiah to his parents, but I would also love to find information on his lost brother, Malachi.

3 thoughts on “Brick Wall of the Month: Hezekiah Collins

Leave a Reply

