Brick Wall of the Month: Charles Cocke

My brick wall for the month of August is Charles Cocke.

Charles Cocke was born 12 November 1750, Halifax County, Virginia.
He married Eleanor Ewing (daughter of George Ewing) and they had at least one child, a daughter: Ellender Cocke.
Ellender was born in 1788, Fincastle, Virginia, and married John Lee Dibrell in Kentucky, 1805.

I do not know what happened to Charles and Eleanor after the birth of their daughter.

I have researched in Virginia, specifically in Fincastle and in Halifax County, and have found no trace of either. One source, another family tree, puts Charles and Eleanor in Arkansas, both evidently dying there in 1838. But I have located neither court records, nor land records, nor any census reflecting either of them or their fate.

If anyone has any thoughts or suggestions on how I might find information on either of these, but specifically Charles, I welcome them. Thanks.

4 thoughts on “Brick Wall of the Month: Charles Cocke

  1. I would contact the person who has the tree in ancestry.com and see how they got this information. I know on my tree I have very little sourced but have many records on file at home. I have done this many times. Sometimes you gain a new cousin. However most times you never hear back, but it is always worth a try.

Leave a Reply

