Demuth Family Genealogy

This line originates from my Damewood line.

After many years of research, it has been discovered that the original family name for Damewood was in fact Demuth, from Switzerland.

Heinrich and Anna Giessler Demuth were from Buettenhardt, Switzerland, which rests on the northwest side just south of the German border.

They moved to America in the early 1700s, and had at least four children in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania: John, Melchior (Malachi), Heinrich, and Sebastian (Boston). All four sons were born between 1742 and 1754.

During my trip to the Pennsylvania area this past summer I did find the birth records for the four boys in “Pennsylvania Births, Lancaster County, 1723-1777.”

I know most, if not all of the family, moved down to Botetourt County, Virginia, by the 1770s. I would like to know more about Malachi Damewood, my direct descendant. But I would also like to know where Heinrich and Anna ended up.

One thought on “Demuth Family Genealogy

  1. I am also a descended from Malachi Damewood. My grandmother was Ruth Lillian Damewood Riley from Charleston SC. Malachi had a son named Erastus. His son was George Washington Damewood. He had a son William Thurston Damewood who is my great-grandfather. His daughter, Ruth Lillian Damewood Riley was my maternal grandmother.

Leave a Reply

