Dalton Family Genealogy II

This is an update to the post Dalton Family Genealogy I, published on November, 29, 2012. When I figure out how to link to the first post, I will do so here.

This is information I was able to gather from visiting the Kansas City, Kansas area during the summer of 2013.

My great-grandmother, Nancy Dalton, was the daughter of John Dalton and Mary Phillips. I found a copy of Mary Phillips Dalton’s obituary at the Kansas City Library. It listed a number of her siblings who had outlived her. I am hoping to possibly track down more information regarding the Phillips and Dalton families by doing more research on these sibling families.

I also located the graves of both John and Mary Dalton in Kansas City, Kansas, at the Mount Calvary Catholic Church. Two surprises here: first, I was not aware that John and Mary were Catholic. If they were, I may be able to locate more about them and their families through the church records. Secondly, John and Mary are both buried in the “old” section of the cemetery (maybe before it was designated catholic?) but not together! In fact, Mary, who died in 1928, is buried at the top of the section, while John, who died in 1936, just eight years later, is buried at the bottom of the section, closest to the road.

My biggest find, however, was locating the marriage record between John’s parents, Francis Dalton and Rodantha Beach. They married in Macon County, Illinois, in 1853.

I am hoping to learn more about Francis, who was born in Northern Ireland in about 1827, and more about Rodantha and her family. Rodantha was born in Wayne County, Indiana to Jesse Beach and Arena Mendenhall. Rodantha’s family is described in the Beach Family Genealogy Posts, published earlier.

Francis may have arrived in New York from Northern Ireland in 1848. If this is true, then I may be able to find out exactly where he came from (such as which county in Ireland) and who his family was.

Leave a Reply

