Genealogy #6: Family Clues, part 3

Family Clues, part 3

It is exceedingly helpful to have all the details you can muster with you as you continue your research.
Especially when doing On-the-Road research, the more details you have, the better off you’ll be.

One specific example of where not having enough details can trip you up: multiple marriages.

I have matriarchs on both sides of my family who married four times!
In one instance, my ancestry was derived from the first marriage; but in the other, I am descended from the third marriage.
Knowing the details of all the marriages helps when trying to find graves, obituaries, probate and will information, all kinds of stuff.

Another example of requiring details comes from when I was looking for the grave of my great-grandmother’s brother.

Since I was a little girl, my grandmother, at my urging, would pull out the old, worn bronze medallion with a gold star and tell me the story again: how her grandmother was what was called a Gold Star Mother, because her son had died in World War I; how he actually had survived the war, and was on the train to travel to the coast and return to America; how he had already contracted the flu, and so was pulled off the train, and he died over there, in France; how my grandmother’s grandmother had traveled with other gold star mothers to visit the graves of their sons; and how years later my grandmother had received the commemorative medallion from her grandmother, who had kept it in memory of her trip to France.

Many years later my own grandmother gave me the medallion as her grandmother had given it to her, since she knew I loved the story behind it, and I was so interested in family history.

A few more years after that, I was traveling through Europe and wanted to find my great-grandmother’s brother (Lester Charles’) grave.
Knowing all the facts of how and when he had died made all the difference when trying to locate his actual marker.

As for the story of the search and how that ended…I’ll save that for another day. 😉

Leave a Reply

