Project #4

This is the last posting relating the positives and negatives of each of my Current Projects.

Project #4 is a limited type of autobiography…it covers one significant section of my life in detail.  The good, the bad, the ugly…it’s all in there.  As it is a narrative, it only involves my point of view: although certainly there are plenty of other people included in the work.

The major positive regarding this work is…it’s complete! Though I may yet make changes, the bulk of it is unlikely to change. Certainly, I have very little to add to it, as I feel I have been about as detailed as I can muster! Other unexpected positives are that I now know that I really, really love working with an outline; I know that I can follow a major writing project through to its end; and I know that if I have a clear path (such as an outline) and give myself enough time to write (even if it is in small, uneven doses), I can complete the project in an acceptable time frame. These are big points, and having met them absolutely contributed to my beginning each one of the projects I am working on now!  Once you know you can accomplish the task, it definitely becomes easier to start the next one.

The major negative with this project is…it’s complete, and I have no idea what I should do now to see it published under the best possible scenario.  I did huge amounts of editing as I continued through the writing process (I understand now that many people don’t think this is a good idea: they think you should write the whole thing out before beginning the editing process. All I can say is that it really worked well for me to edit, edit again, and then maybe rewrite the entire thing before editing a third time and finally moving on to the next section) and then set it aside for a time before revisiting. The last gap was several months in between my own reviews. I still didn’t feel I wanted to change anything.

I really would like feedback on what I have done before I start the laborious process of finding an agent/publisher/friend who talks me out of publishing altogether/etc.  But I have no idea how to get this! I did persuade several friends/co-workers whose opinions I valued to read the work, but I received virtually no feedback whatsoever.  I was so disappointed. I honestly would have rather had them tell me they either hated it or didn’t understand it or whatever, instead of offering no comments or suggestions at all.  That was rough enough! But that was then, this is now, and I still have no idea how to get feedback from someone.

I suppose ultimately I will just have to dust the cobwebs off the project, swallow my concerns, and get on with the ride. But it is frustrating.

I still think it’s a great story, by the way. But maybe I’m the only one.

2 thoughts on “Project #4

  1. You’ve been doing this a while! I love reading it….would love to read any project of yours. Delighted you’re taking this leap! Congratulations1

Leave a Reply

